Brisket and Baby

Marin Sun Farms gave us brisket two shipments in a row. Mister made a version of beef Bourgogne while we were up in Truckee.

img_1646

I loved it. It was full of winey mushrooms and carrots that my picky nephews ate (sort of). He pulled out Arthur Schwartz’s Jewish Home Cooking: Yiddish Recipes Revisited for me while I browsed one of my slow cooker books.

img_1647

In the end, I went with his recipe but used the timing from one of the slow cooker recipes. It was incredibly easy though the slicing of four onions was hell on Lentil and me.

Slow cooker on for 7.5 hours (I added another 45 minutes or so because the brisket was too big to evenly fit in the cooker and had to be flipped). Yum. Yum. Yum. Tender, flavorful meat. Yum. Yum. Yum. It wasn’t stringy, it wasn’t tough. The simple recipe let the brisket be brisket, taking in the onion flavor mixed with the fat of the meat.

It might not be proper, but I might toss in more carrots next time (Schwartz’s recipe does not include carrots but I added a couple).

Leave a Reply

