The Squid and Yarn

I convinced my friends the Grad Student and DoubleA to join me at KnitOneOne’s Magical Mystery Knitting Night.

Whoa. I had no idea what to expect but here’s what you get: a mystery pattern that is not revealed until the end.

The day before, we received an email telling us what kind of yarns and needles we would need ($35 for the session covers dinner, rental, instructor). I show up with lovely blue Manos del Uruguay leftover from the Bakesale Betty Baby umbilical hat.

We’re happily knitting along when people begin guessing what the weird thing is we’re knitting. I didn’t get a shot of the first stage, when it was a flat piece with flanges, but when we got here:

IMG_0138.JPG

we were pretty sure it would be a squid. A squid what, though?

Ah, a squid cell phone cozy. My iPhone won’t fit in it and neither will most phones. Intrepid Jennifer suggested it could hold tampons.

IMG_0142.JPGA collection of unseamed squid. I haven’t seamed nor have I added my little button eyes. Maybe I’ll make a second and give them to my nieces.

Leave a Reply

