Why I Like Ecto

Most schools block blogs and social networking sites. I can understand the need to block facebook or myspace at school, but really, my homework blog? The homework sites of a dozen other teachers? And now, de.lici.ous (however it’s spelled) is also blocked. I use my delicious tags for curriculum units and offer them to my students. No more!

To get around the blocked blog issue, I started using Ecto a couple of years ago. It’s great. I can post updates to the class blog through the software. No more waiting until I get home to update it (when often meant forgetting to update). It’s still a drag to update homework, but so much better than it was. And Ecto is cheap — about $18.

Leave a Reply

