Brunch with Babies

Our friends the Lees came over this morning for brunch. The Girls were out in their coop, fat on mealworms and chick feed.

Inside, Mister was asleep after being up way too late working on, well, work. I swept and tidied, set the table in preparation for our friends and their two daughters (4 1/2 and 15 months).

What I made:

  • popovers from Marc Bitman’s How to Cook Everything
  • artichoke omelet (open-face) from Laura Zarubin’s I am almost always hungry
  • fruit salad made with fruit I like (two kinds of mango, yellow watermelon, gold pineapple, kiwi, strawberries, blueberries, blackberries (too early for these), a splash of Odwalla orange juice, fresh mint
  • Berkeley Bowl bacon (Niman’s was too fatty) and house-made sausage

Zarubin’s recipe says to peel the artichokes, slice lengthwise, soak in lemon water, then dredge in flour before quickly (and briefly) frying them in olive oil. I, being tired, missed the flour step. I don’t think you need it. The artichokes crisp up alright. That said, I’ll do it again but properly prep the artichokes and see what happens.

The eggs came from Riverdog Farms; we picked them up at the Berkeley farmer’s market yesterday. Wow, the gold in the yolks was intense, making the omelettes a deep orange-gold (and deliciously rich!).

mmmmmmm

We have lots of fruit salad to get through, plus more fruit. Yum. I wonder if it will go with the fresh ginger cake I made last night. The cake recipe is from Epicurious but I modify it slightly. It calls for 1C mild molasses, I use 3/4 cup of Blackstrap molasses and 1/4C mild instead to make it darker and richer. It’s great with whipped cream. I was inspired by Crixa Cakes’ version. Hmmm. I think I’ve written about this before.

Leave a Reply

