Marin Sun Farms Does It Again

I did a bit of spring cleaning yesterday while Mister was out having coffee with a colleague. He surprised me by returning with a small rack of lamb and potatoes to prepare for dinner.

I love lamb. I love it. It is the meat of my people, prepared in kabobs, over rice, in stews. I understand that some people do not like the strong taste of lamb but it is precisely that earthy, rich flavor that calls to me. Mister gave the lamb a simple coating of salt and pepper then roasted itLambOh my head. Medium rare chops with a crisp outer skin on the fat. I could feel the fat on my lips in every bite. (Do not recoil in horror; you know you love fat, too.) He roasted the potatoes in our favorite fashion, using a recipe from the Zuni Cafe cookbook. (Chop into dice-sized cubes, boil, then coat in oil and rosemary and roast…crispy on the outside, fluffy on the inside.) I prepared two kinds of broccoli roma style — blanched then sauteed in olive oil and garlic ala Mark Bittman’s How to Make Everything Vegetarian.

The lamb came from Marin Sun Farms. Mister also picked up a dozen eggs which included two, blue araucana chicken eggs. Yeah!

Leave a Reply

